Trying Not to Jinx Myself with a Bucket List

Happy New Year!

I’ve already started off on the right foot in that I’ve only worked 2 days this year. Granted, there have only been 3 days total and one was a national holiday.

BUT STILL.

For some strange reason, multiple people have inquired as to what I’ve chosen for my New Year’s Resolutions to which I respond “DO YOU KNOW ME AT ALL?!”

I am of the opinion that Resolutions have become more of a joke in modern culture–everyone makes them, very few are kept. Then the end of the year rolls around and people are scramblin’ to accomplish the goals they set for themselves at lightening speed. On December 25th, all hill and dale will be ringing with “Oh crap, better lose those 15 pounds, give up smoking, and get that John Deer tractor I was supposed to be saving for. I’ll charge it since I didn’t actually save.”

Apparently, I hang out with a lot of farmers…?

SO this year, I’m not making any resolutions at all. Instead, I’m going to attempt to trick my brain into thinking that a Bucket List is completely different from a Resolution List.

For those of you who haven’t seen The Bucket List, or at least didn’t hear an unsolicited play-by-play synopsis from a former college roommate, a bucket list is a collection of things you want to accomplish before you ‘kick the bucket’. There isn’t usually a time limit associated with them, but I’ve come to find that life is unpredictable and you never know when you’re gonna get called to the Golden Cow Pasture in the Sky.

(I have no idea where all of these allusions to a pastoral lifestyle are coming from. Must be the old Westerns I’ve been watching on Netflix). 

If I don’t have a deadline, I’m not going to do it.

So here is my Bucket List for 2013:

1) To see more of these:

photo-11

That’s a sunrise, but sunsets will do nicely, too.

2) To eat more of these:

And other things just like it. This particular confection can be found at Disneyland. Notice the mouse-head-shaped-sprinkles.

And other things just like it. This particular confection can be found at Disneyland. Notice the mouse-head-shaped-sprinkles.

3) To finish this project I set for myself and have been falling behind on.

4) To finish writing and shoot the SAG-signatoried (fingers crossed) web-series I’ve been planning for the past couple of months.

5) To run the Half-Marathon I signed up for in March in less than 2 hours and 40 minutes.

6) To train for that half-marathon mentioned above so I can meet that goal without breaking a limb/collapsing along the way.

7) To order more coffee in cups “to stay” so that I can actually relax and enjoy it instead of running around like a chicken with its head cut off while pouring the scalding liquid down my throat.

Aesthetically pleasing and delicious.

Aesthetically pleasing and delicious

8) To join the Screen Actor’s Guild.

9) To find representation, in other words: an agent. Slippery little suckers are really hard to get ahold of out here in Los Angeles.

10) To be the best Personal Assistant I can be while learning invaluable tricks of the trade.

11) To travel and explore more–and not necessarily out of Los Angeles. This little beauty was taken 10 minutes from my house:

A shot of LA from Griffith's Observatory.

A shot of LA from Griffith’s Observatory

12) To really put myself out there–make new friends, leave my apartment more often, and maybe even frequent a night club or two on the weekends. Let’s not get crazy, though.

13) To write a full-length middle grade children’s novel and get it published.

I think that’s quite enough–I maybe even got a little carried away. The most important thing to remember is that all of these are tangible, and thankfully, don’t include childbirth.

Leave a Reply

