Combating the January Blues

I thought moving to Los Angeles guaranteed me a remedy to Seasonal Affective Disorder, acronym: SAD (someone used some clever thinking for that one).

It’s supposed to be bright, sunny, and warm 365 days a year, here, right?! Unfortunately, I’ve been assured that that misconception is just a marketing ploy to get people to move to California.

I’m starting to believe it.

I’ve been completely unmotivated with a big case of the grumps. I guess I’ve finally come down from the high of moving clear across the country in pursuit of an astronomical goal.

There’s hope, though, because Dr. Seuss says that this is completely normal:

And when you’re in a Slump,

you’re not in for much fun.

Un-slumping yourself

is not easily done.

You will come to a place where the streets are not marked.

Some windows are lighted. But mostly they’re darked.

A place you could sprain both your elbow and chin!

Do you dare to stay out? Do you dare to go in?

How much can you lose? How much can you win?

It’s a good thing my High School’s “Access Program” presented me with a copy of “Oh the Places You’ll Go” upon graduation or I would be so lost.

Stinkin’ Slump.

I’m sure there are a number of people, some of my readers included, who have the same problem this time of year. I’m not taking this one lying down; although, a nap sounds really good right about now. Here’s how I think I’ll spend my day, prying myself out of the Blah’s:

First, I’m going to stare at this photo for a while until I get momentarily happy:

San Francisco's Harbor Seals brighten everyone's day.

San Francisco’s Harbor Seals brighten everyone’s day.

Then, I’m going to shower. Because you can’t feel too sad when you’re squeaky clean.

Afterwards, I’m going to put on work out clothes. Even if I don’t get to a work out today, it’s the thought that counts…right?!

Then, I’ll probably skip on over to my favorite café and eat this:

That's not enough whipped cream

That’s not enough whipped cream

Afterwards, I will probably devote a large chunk of my day to reading one of the 7 Harry Potter Novels. The boy wizard’s problems help me to put mine in perspective: I may be down in the dumps, but I’m not being methodically hunted down by the most evil dark wizard of modern times.

Caveat: I will read outside in the sunshine instead of the cave of darkness that is my living room.

I’m going to call someone and meet up, even if for just a short while, as human contact is important for the good health of one’s psyche.

I maaaay try to squeeze in that workout. Okay, I will do that workout as I’m training for that Half-Marathon I mentioned in my 2013 Bucket List.

By this time, it should be the early evening. I will drag myself to the grocery store, pick up some ingredients, and have spaghetti for dinner. Why this particular Italian delicacy? Because it’s probably the first meal I learned how to cook and thinking about how far I’ve come in the kitchen makes me happy (I can boil water, cook a pancake, and defrost/microwave like the pros!).

Then, it’s time for one of the greatest Holiday Movies ever. Will it be The Nightmare Before Christmas or Love Actually? It won’t be my all-time favorite A Muppet Christmas Carol as I don’t own it, can’t find it in it’s entirety on Youtube, and it’s not on Netflix.

Bah Humbug.

On that note, I’ll most likely ditch the holiday fare and watch the best show in existence, “Parks and Recreation” (don’t argue with me on this one. I know I’m right, and no amount of evidence based commentary will sway my judgement).

I may fall asleep while watching, one of the many geriatric tendencies I have, and hope that I wake up with a better attitude in the morning.

For more insight into the mind of the Short and Feisty, click the “Follow this blog” button towards the top of the page.

Leave a Reply

