Feed the Birds—Tuppence a Bag.

*This blog post was written Saturday November 15, 2014 from a cabin in Lake Arrowhead, CA. It is the 2nd post of a series of posts written at a self-imposed writer’s retreat. Here is the first.*

I knew that furiously writing for 12 hours every day, holed up in a cabin, wasn’t likely going to happen. It was my goal, when booking this trip, to insert a little more optimism into my process than I am used to while simultaneously “keepin’ it real”.

The owners of the cabin we stayed in went above and beyond on the hospitality front: we had instructions laid out on how to open up and close down the property, plenty of firewood and matches, complimentary luxury bath products and, best of all: a plethora of birdseed stashed in the fridge.

photo 3-2I haven’t fed birds in nature, like, ever. I’ve given bread to pond ducks (apparently a no-no) but never made the effort to lure unsuspecting birds into my enthusiastic orb of energy through legitimate bird food.

You will understand, then, why I had a hard time figuring out just what to do.

There’s no real yard to the cabin, per se, at least not in front. There’s just a shared driveway and a front porch. I saw some birds hanging on the telephone wire across the street and decided they looked a little peckish (get it?!) and wanted to focus my avian culinary attentions on them.

Naturally, I walked out onto the driveway, took a pinch of the bird seed, and scattered it on the asphalt.

SURPRISE! Didn’t work.

Then, I took a fistful and tossed it in their general direction.

Also not effective—the birds sat perched on the wire staring at me.

“Is she some kind of amateur?” they must’ve chirped to one another.

I walked away from the driveway and back onto the front porch. A light bulb flickered dimly in my brain and I decided to line the porch railing with a couple of handfuls of seeds. Then, I hightailed it back through the front door.

My gnome buddy and I laid in wait, wondering if any of the birds would land in my (harmless) food snare.photo 4-1

BINGO.

photo 1-5

They’d come down, snag a seed or two, and then fly off. I can only assume they have deep emotional issues with bird seed voyeurism from humans and need privacy to eat.

Feeling incredibly proud of myself, I returned to the kitchen and placed the bag of seed back on the shelf. I looked down to see detailed instructions (hooray for my hosts) on how to load the seeds into the designated feeders. You know…that tiny little house NEXT to all of my birdseed?

If I had just slowed down and read the signs (literally), my task would have been much easier. Someone had already told me what I needed to do to attract my desired goal. I just wasn’t really great at paying attention.

Lots of people will give you advice, and not all of it will be the direction that you need to take. But couple it together with your intuition, and make something happen. Choose the right way for you.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s back to my birds.

To stay up-do-date on all of Short and Feisty’s posts, click the Follow this blog button at the top right of this page.

Leave a Reply

