fUNemployment.

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” –John Lennon

Well, HELLO there, unemployment. We meet again, and this time for the first time since College, when I met with you intentionally and under my own terms.

Recently, I was poached from one nanny job with the promise of brighter horizons and better working conditions (not to mention a raise!). Turns out, that was a big ‘ole bust–and not on my part, honestly. There are certain conditions I’m able to work under and others that I’m not. I’ll leave it at that.

BUT.

That means that I am now without a job for the first time in a long time. I’ve always had another job lined up before I made the leap to another, but this time, it hasn’t quite worked out like that. I temped with a former family as soon as the “new” family and I parted ways, but that ended on Friday so now I have ZERO income.

And I’m not freaking out.

I repeat: I. Am. Not. Freaking. Out.

How completely out of character is that, y’all!? That’s the crazy part of having an anxiety disorder. I’m can lose my cool over minutiae that means nothing to anyone but when I suddenly find myself without employ, it’s all rainbows and butterflies.

That’s not entirely true–I am a bit worried but I was given severance and have been steadily saving quite a bit over the last year so I don’t immediately have to sell all of my possessions and live out of my car. Which, honestly, doesn’t sound like such a bad idea right now. I just need to park in a safe neighborhood, proposition friends for the use of their showers, etc.

I’ll have to think on that one.

ANYWHO–the only rational reason I can think of that’s keeping me from jumping off the deep-end is that I really needed a break. I’ve been working, in one form or another, since I was 13 years old. I haven’t had an honest to goodness break since that one semester in college I decided to just focus on schoolwork (then quickly ran out of money and got 2 part-time jobs to make up for lost time).

So now I’m kind of in creative limbo where I’m applying for jobs but attempting not to stress the freak out–because I think the best way for me to use that nervous energy that I would normally expend on worrying and focus it onto more creative endeavors. Like starting to get prepared to do NaNoWriMo next month! And brushing the dust off of my screenplays that have been sitting neglected in a pile on my desk! Or cleaning my pig sty of an apartment!

Endless possibilities for this interestingly new time in my life!

Photo Credit | blogging4jobs.com

Photo Credit | blogging4jobs.com

One thought on “fUNemployment.

Leave a Reply

